Sunday, November 8, 2015

Nov 14 @ The Edina Classic

The Edina Classic
Edina High School
14 November 2015

You are making history:  This is our first tournament in 30+ years, and the first time there has been a combined Speech and Debate tournament in Minnesota since the 1990s.

Coach-in-Charge *
Hayley Pierce-Ramsdell
Tim Greenfield
* If you are an Edina competitor, you should go to these two people for any questions during the day.  Elizabeth and Andy will be busy running the tournament.

Check-in on tournament day
Everybody who is competing -- both speech and debate -- needs to check in with Hayley (and only Hayley) in room 324 by 7:30AM. She will have a clipboard and a copy of our roster.  If you are not checked in by 7:30 we are dropping you from the tournament. Once you've checked in, you need to take your materials to the common space and prep like we do at any other tournament.

  1. Nobody leaves until the building is cleaned.  As soon as you are done debating/speaking, you need to report to room 324 to be assigned clean-up jobs.  With a team our size, we should be able to having building more or less done by the time awards begin.
  2. We expect you to attend awards.  
  3. Do we want to win things? Absolutely!  But we also take the extra steps expected of hosts. For example, if you see people looking for rooms, you need to take time to graciously help our guests.  ("Never trashy, always classy.") We also need you to look out for well-being of our classrooms.
  4. We will post the full roster soon, but you should expect to be debating or speaking.
  5. I need 6-8 volunteers to help with setup on Friday night.  We'll start at 4 and finish when we have the building ready for competition.  We'll provide dinner when we're done.  BUT...I only want helpers who ask, "What can I do next?"  
  6. Student volunteers sign up here.
  7. Then I need Adi, Arvind, Connie, Leah, and Samantha to be my extra-help helpers on Saturday, making one final sweep of building to make sure everything is clean.

Varsity LD Debate
   Anand Mittal
   Arvind Veluvali
   Gloria Mi
   Joanna Kim
   Jonah Rosenthal
   Kyle Nicholson
   Murray Friedberg
   Prasoon Sinha
   Romi Lee
   Sandra Chen
   Tanner Jones
   Uma Kumar-Montei

Novice LD Debate
   Amrutha Garimella
   Biren Katyal
   Kathleen Scoggin
   Lucca Figari
   Mythili Iyer
   Nathan Annareddy
   Sabrina Talghader
   Stella Olken-Hunt
   Zoe Iyer

Congressional Debate
   Anjali Aralikar
   Ravneet Anand

JV LD Debate
   Aiden Swann
   Jake Straub
   Joseph Annareddy
   Kanu Madhok
   Mark Kivimaki
   Noel Hayward
   Om Jahagirdar
   Quinn Ramsay
   Rahil Modi
   Sujit Varadhan

   Connie Chao
   Gloria Mi
   Gracia Seeley
   James Kuznecoff
   Mabel Thomas
   Matias Figari
   Natalie Curtin
   Samantha Bevers
   Sandra Chen
   Saumya Mangalick
   Tanner Jones
   Zach Zamoff

Varsity Public Forum
   Khalid Ishani - James Kuznecoff
   Natalie Curtin - Adi Mittal
   Jenny Ma - Aarathi Garimella
   David Ma - Richard Zhu
   Theo Teske - Matthew Nissen

JV Public Forum
   Emily Fan - Gauri Madhok
   Chloe Maynor - Anya Gudorf
   Jay Chochreck - Oscar O'Brien
   Veronica Wakefield  - Samantha Bevers
   Owen Phernetton - Paul Seim

Novice Public Forum
   Jennifer Ai - Kendrew Chen
   Sophie Addinton - Caroline Machart

Extemporaneous Speaking
   Connie Chao
   Leah Schmitt
   Matias Figari
   Zach Zamoff

Original Oratory
   No entries.

Duo Interpretation
   Sarah Collier - Medha Kaul

Humorous Interpretation
   Mabel Thomas
   Sarah Collier
   Sarah Collier
   Saumya Mangalick

Dramatic Interpretation
   Gracia Seeley
   Medha Kaul
   Saumya Mangalick

Informative Speaking
   No entries.

Program Oral Interpretation
   No entries.

Round 1 - 9 AM (draw at 8:30)
Round 2 - 10:30 AM (draw at 10:00)
Round 3 - 1:00 PM (draw at 12:30)
Round 4 - 2:30 PM (draw at 2:00)

LD & PF  
Round 1   8:30 AM
Round 2   9:30 AM
Round 3  10:45 AM
Round 4  12:30 PM
Round 5  2:00 PM
Varsity Final Round: 3:00 PM

Congressional Debate
Session 1  8:30-11:30
Session 2 12:30-3:30 

Round 1 - Following Round 2 of LD/PF
Round 2 - Following Round 3 of LD/PF
Round 3 - Following Round 4 of LD/PF

UNIFIED AWARDS CEREMONY - 4:00 P.M., Fick Auditorium